Winners of Creative Diversity Network Awards 2017 announced


The Creative Diversity Network (CDN) has revealed the winners for its 2017 awards. The awards reward outstanding quality, creativity and diversity in television that represents all aspects of British society.  They are designed to acknowledge outstanding work both on and off-screen and serve to showcase the best and most exciting talent in the UK.

CTVC collecting award

The makers of Life and Deaf CTVC collect their award. Photograph: Christopher Andreou

The winning programmes all demonstrate that challenging stereotypes can be thought-provoking, offers a chance for under-represented groups to tell their own stories, as well as being entertaining. Those individuals, production companies and channels winning the Change Makers awards were all chosen for widening the understanding of diversity and championing culture change across the television industry.

The award for Outstanding Contribution to increasing diversity in the UK’s television industry was given to the Rt Hon Ed Vaizey MP, former Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries. CDN felt that when concerns about diversity were brought to his attention, he made fantastic use of his power to convene and lead the diversity agenda within the Department of Culture, Media and Sport, which helped to ensure that this year’s award winners were supported.

Deborah Williams, CDN Executive Director said:

“The winners of our 2017 awards shone through what was a strong field. They are proof that there is a lot of fantastic talent out there and when producers and broadcasters set their mind to it, they really can make and champion great, memorable content that engages with a wide audience and properly reflects the diversity of all of their viewers. If Ed Vaizey gets it, everyone should get it!”

The Winning programmes in the Outstanding Programme shortlist are:

Chewing Gum (Retort for E4)

Damilola, Our Loved Boy (Minnow Films for BBC 1)

The Last Leg: Live From Rio (Open Mike Productions for Channel 4)

Life and Deaf (Flashing Lights and CTVC for BBC 4)

News or Current Affairs
Unreported World. Mission Critical: Afghanistan (Quicksilver Media for Channel 4)

The Change Makers winners are:   

Production company of the year
BBC Children’s In-House Production

Levi David Addai (Writer, Damilola, Our Lost Boy, Minnow Films for BBC 1)

Commissioner or Channel Of The Year

Diversity Champion
Damian Kavanagh (BBC 3)

On Screen Talent
Michaela Coel (Chewing Gum, Retort for E4)